Little girl, full of dreams

When I was six years old, I wanted to become a singer. Even though I couldn’t sing.

When I was eight years old, I wanted to become a ballerina, even though I was taken out of dance after an unfortunate incident. The incident being that I was terrified to go on stage dressed as a zebra and I refused to come out of my closet to go to the recital. My mom and dad were not too happy about that…

Then, at ten years old, my dreams started to become more realistic for me. I wanted to become a nurse, just like my Mommy. But, as I grew older I came to the harsh realization that I do NOT like blood, vomit or any other bodily fluid that nurses often deal with.

It was when I was twelve that I discovered my passion for children. I wanted to grow up and save all of the orphaned kids in the world. All of the ones that were dealt a life that they did not deserve. I wanted to do something so impossible for a twelve year old, but so heart warming. I told myself that one day, I was going to change the lives of as many children as possible. But, how?

My dreams ventured from fantasy to realistic back to nearly impossible. But, I was determined to find a way to make it possible.

All through high school I searched and searched for a way to save children. From being a neonatal nurse to being an adoption attorney.

It was when I was 17 years old, going into college that I settled on teaching. I figured that was the best way to help children in a realistic, every day sense. But, I always knew that I did not love teaching, I loved helping kids but NOT teaching. Either way, I faked a passion for teaching that I did not have in hopes that one day I would develop it.

But, now, at 19 years old, I discovered that I don’t have to have a career working with children to change their lives. I can write. I can be who I was made to be. I can ride the crazy waves of live and see where it takes me.

And, in the end, I’m not sure what my future holds for me. But, I do know that my future is bright. And I will change the lives of children. It just might not be every single one.

Leave a Reply

